Death Line #3 Rafferty & Llewellyn British Detective Series
Series: Rafferty and Llewellyn British Detective Series, Book 3
Genre: Mystery
Tag: British Detective Series
Publisher: Geraldine Evans
Length: Novel-Length
When 'Seer to the Stars', Jasper Moon, is found murdered in his consulting rooms, British Detective Joe Rafferty wishes he could use the crystal ball that killed him to seek the solution. But when it comes to organising Rafferty's future marital propects, his ma needs no such implements to aid her.
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon Kindle
About the Book


#3 of 15 in the Rafferty & Llewellyn British Detective Series by trad-turned-indie author Geraldine Evans.
Tired of serial killers? Stomach turned by endless blood and gore and unspeakable happenings? Like some FUN with your mysteries?
Then meet British Detective Joe Rafferty, from a family who enjoy a little gentle law-bending and who think – if they MUST have a copper in the family – he might at least have the decency to be A BENT one!
Why not try Dead Before Morning, the first book in the series, too? It’s FREE!
A Little Laughter. A Little Mayhem. A Little MURDER…
For readers who like cozy mysteries, humorous mysteries and police procedurals.
Jasper Moon, internationally renowned ‘seer to the stars’, had signally failed to foresee his own future. He is found dead on his consulting-room floor, his skull crushed with his own crystal ball and, all, around him, his office in chaos.
Meanwhile, Ma Rafferty goes in for a bit of star gazing of her own. She sees a good Catholic girl with child-bearing hips in Detective Inspector Joe Rafferty’s future. Rafferty hopes a cunning plan will help him avoid her machinations. But he will need Sergeant Llewellyn’s cooperation and he isn’t sure he is going to get it.
During their murder investigations, Inspector Rafferty and Sergeant Llewellyn gradually discover connections between Moon and others in the small Essex town of Elmhurst. But why is it that all of Rafferty’s suspects have seemingly unbreakable alibis?
‘The detectives brilliantly complement and oppose each other. For those who love Sherlock Holmes-style mysteries, you’ll likely adore Evans’ style, humor and method of detection. A wonderful cozy, rainy-night read.’ CHARLIE COURTLAND OF BITSY BLING BOOKS
‘I would recommend this book for the suspense aficionado. There is color and fun to the story as well as secrets and darkness. This is a slow building murder mystery, with just a bit of humor, something for everyone that enjoys a bit of the unusual.’ TERRY WRIGHT RATING 4/5
‘Ms Evans writes with a nice, tongue-in-cheek style and in her policemen has created an attractive pair of sleuths. Recommended.’ MICHAEL PAINTER, THE IRISH TIMES
‘I love English detectives and the team of Rafferty and Llewellyn is no exception. In my opinion Geraldine Evans will soon be one of those must read authors whose books sell out in minutes.’
The third book in the quirky, not quite so Traditional British mystery series.
Rafferty & Llewellyn series
Dead Before Morning #1
Down Among the Dead Men #2
Death Line #3
The Hanging Tree #4
Absolute Poison #5
Dying For You #6
Bad Blood #7
Love Lies Bleeding #8
Blood on the Bones #9
A Thrust to the Vitals #10
Death Dues #11
All the Lonely People #12
Death Dance #13
Deadly Reunion #14
Kith and Kill #15
Q: What’s different about the Rafferty & Llewellyn series?
A: It’s fun! I wanted to create mysteries that have murder at their core, but at the same time have funny sub-plots. And when you consider the large Irish-Catholic clan of law-benders that Detective Joe Rafferty comes from there’s plenty of scope. I wrote the books I wanted to read, but could rarely find.
Q: Should the books be read in any particular order?
A: No. They’re each a complete novel. But I think the reader would find more enjoyment reading them as they were written, as Rafferty’s life, like yours and mine, has a variety of events that impinge on his present.
Q: Why should readers give these books a try?
A: If you like a puzzle, but also like to laugh, I think you’ll enjoy the ride. They’re more slow and easy than fast-paced. Joseph Aloysius Rafferty is Everyman, not Superman, and all too human. And if you find you enjoy reading this series as much as I enjoy writing them, you might be pleased to learn that there are 15 books in the series.
Q: Is the whole series available in digital format?
A: Yes. Why not try the first? It’s FREE! Plus there’s a bundle of the first four in the series (Dead Before Morning, Down Among the Dead Men, Death Line and The Hanging Tree) at a special discounted price by way of an introduction.
Sign up for my irregular Newsletter: for all my news.
And thanks for reading!

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."